Really Cool Stuff: Norwell, MA Resident Writes Book on Local History

So for a while now, I have been trying to write a book. I’m actually getting somewhere finally. I’m doing this for my Master’s Thesis in English. The comic to the right kind of sums up how my experience began.

Then, reading WickedLocal.com – my source for local news online – I came across an article on a local writer and his journey writing a book about the town- a topic that has literally been staring at me in my face for the twenty-odd years I’ve lived here.

Local Norwell, MA resident Sam Olson wrote Narrative of South Scituate & Norwell (1849-1963) Remembering its Past and the World Around it. My first thought, of course, is that this would be a great Christmas gift to any long-time Norwell resident. My own family has been here for over fifty years! (Wow.) And it also brings me hope that just because I’m from a small town, doesn’t mean I am capable of only small things.

The following passage has been taken from WickedLocal.com’s article on the story:

Olson said his goal for the book is “to make Norwell history more understandable” for Norwell residents and those curious about the town’s history.  And the goal of the historical society, who’s sponsoring the book’s publication, is merely to make the information accessible and available to Norwell residents, both adults and children.

Quite honestly, I know very little about my town’s history even though I have lived here my whole life. It wouldn’t be fair of me to speak for others my age who have lived here their whole lives, but it may be true for them as well: the only thing I really know of my town’s history is that it was once known as South Scituate and that there is a Historical House on Norwell Avenue called “The Norwell House.” And I think it’s because the founder of Norwell (Henry Norwell?) lived there sometime in the 19th century. I emphasize the I think part of that statement.

For curious readers, there will be a book release party hosted by the Norwell Historical Society on Friday, Nov. 12, from 7-9 p.m., at the Cushing Center. At the party you can also pick up a copy of The ABC’s of Norwell which is written by Gertrude Daneau — which seems like an easy-to-understand handy guide to understanding the town’s personality through local landmarks and stories.

If you’d rather buy online, you can find it at Amazon: A Narrative of South Scituate & Norwell (1849-1963) Remembering its Past and the World Around it by Sam Olson.

Call us (1-781-871-5414) or email for a free quote: Liz@NBAInsurance.com! And don’t forget to tell your friends, Like Us on Facebook and Follow us on Twitter! 😉

Leave a Reply

